Monday, July 15, 2024
HomePoliticsAPC’s David Lyon is Bayelsa Governor-elect- INEC

APC’s David Lyon is Bayelsa Governor-elect- INEC

David Lyon



By Our Reporter

David Lyon is the governor elect of Bayelsa state, this is according to INEC. Mr. Lyon who is the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) won the November 16 governorship election with a total of 352,552 votes to defeat his closest rival and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Mr Duoye Diri, who scored 143,172 votes.

 The Returning Officer of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Benin, Professor Faraday Orunmuwese announced this earlier today.

Lyon was returned as the winner of the keenly contested election after scoring the highest number of votes in the poll.

Mr Diri who was tipped by the incumbent governor, Seriake Dickson to succeed him suffered defeat to his APC rival with a difference of over 180,000 votes.

Lyon won in six LGAs while Diri won in two LGAs.

Lyon won in Brass, Ekeremor, Nembe, Ogbia, Southern Ijaw, and Yenagoa LGAs while Diri won in Kolokuma/Opokuma and Sagbama LGAs.

The returning officer further stated that a total of 505,884 votes were cast, out of which 499,551 were counted as valid votes adding  that a total of 922,562 voters registered for the election but 517,883 voters were accredited



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular